Slow cooked whole chicken

Last weekend various people mentioned slow cooking a whole chicken – both in a foodie Facebook group I subscribe to, and with an ex-chef friend. So I thought I’d give it a go.

Added to that, Hubby was amazed at the price of chicken breast and pieces, in comparison to the price of a whole free range chicken. So bought one for a Sunday roast.

I started by lining the bottom of the slow cooker with: an orange, quartered; a couple of red onions, quartered; and six cloves of garlic, peeled.

I skinned the chicken and seasoned it with Cornish pinch salt and a homemade steak rub (used previously on steaks). I stuffed a couple of small whole onions, halved, in the cavity. I put the chicken breast side down on top of the vege and fruit in the slow cooker.

I cooked it on high for one hour and left it on low for 7 or so more hours…

It produced lots and lots of liquid – so no more than a wee dash of water is needed at the beginning. Be careful taking it out of the cooker – it is very moist and the carcass will break apart easily!

The absolutely best part were the whole cloves of garlic, slow cooked – so delicious!

On another note entirely, a whinge about our slow cooker: it’s jsut too damned clever for it’s own good! I started the dish in our rice/porridge/slow cooker. But after a couple minutes it stopped cooking and decided it was done. It did the same when I tried to cook mashed potato in it; the machine knew it was hot so it stopped – whereas the whole point was to keep cooking the potato for an hour… The chicken recipe had the same problem; I was told not to put any water in, just vege at the bottom to keep the chicken from sticking – but the machine must have registered that the vege at the bottom of the pan was hot. Anyway, I bought a bog standard slow cooker in December (£9 from ASDA) that has two settings and does what it’s told – so I transferred the vege/fruit and chicken to that, and added a little water to the bottom, just to be on the safe side.

Slimming World Syns: this recipe is completely Syn FREE on Extra Easy and Original.

About Em Halforbes

I'm a newly-married, thirty-something museum curator who loves to eat, cook and entertain. And I just started a diet.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Slimming World recipes, Slow cooker and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Slow cooked whole chicken

  1. Does it brown up nicely? Does it ~look~ like roast chicken? I’m still skeptical, but I’m keeping an eye out for sales on chickens – I’m going to try your way when I get one. :)

    • Em Halforbes says:

      Well, I take the skin off for the sake of healthy eating – so I don’t know if it would if you didn’t do that. But, if it didn’t brown up, you could pop it under the grill for a bit to see if that did the trick.

      It reminded me a lot of rotisserie chicken in its juiceiness and texture, so expect the skin would go that way too – I find those chickens to be brown but not cripsy (which is the way I really like it!).

  2. Pingback: Lemon and fennel slow cooked chicken | Em's Food

Leave a Reply

