If I ever see another banana again…

…It won’t be too soon…

I have this habit whereby I save over-ripe bananas in the freezer until I have enough to make a batch of banana cake. Husband pointed out I had 13 bananas in the freezer and that perhaps the time had come…

Mostly I freeze them in their skins – you can chuck the whole thing in. But if they’ve started to get a bit over excited (read: mouldy) I’ll take them out of their skins and put them in a ziploc or container.

They don’t take long to defrost. But do drain off a little of the juice they exude when defrosting! Then they are perfect for mushing up for banana bread.

This recipe is really banana cake – it is sweet and rises with baking powder. It’s adapted from the Back to Basics cookbook that my dad bought when we moved in the 90s (yeah, I know – I think the title was meant to be ironic) and all the family cookbooks were in storage.

I’ve used loaf tins and cake tins to make my banana cakes. With this batch I made tiny one portion cakes (for husband to take for a snack) as well as a big loaf to take to the office.

Ingredients
125 g butter
1 tsp vanilla extract
185 g caster sugar
2 eggs
185 g plain flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
3 very ripe bananas

Method
Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
Mix butter and sugar together until they are a light yellow colour. Add the extract, bananas and eggs.
Sieve the flour and bicarb into the mixture.
Pour the mixture in to a lined and greased tin.
Cook for 45 minutes, or until a skewer poked in to the cake comes out clean.

This entry was posted in Baking, Cakes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

