Chilli non Carne

I had some chilli the other night at my Slimming World class and it was soooooooooooo gooooooood! So it inspired me to make a batch – it’s been a long time.

I used Quorn mince. It’s not that I don’t like beef mince, but we’re having an odd relationship at the moment and I can’t face it. Vege mince and I also have an odd relationship (long term, gastro disagreement) but it doesn’t stop me enjoying eating it.

However, I’m out of practice cooking with vege mince. It needs different seasoning from beef mince. And I think passata would’ve thickened it up a bit, and made a fuller flavour – one to remember for next time.

Our latest obsession is the chopped attachment to our hand blender. It’s great for onions and the like – they’re ok chopped up small – and it saves lots of fine chopping the regular way. I also used it for the celery and mushrooms.

The spices used were mostly chilli powder, but I also added a bunch of ground black pepper, and a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added a splash of two of Worcestershire sauce.

I won’t tell you how to spice your chilli, but it is meant to be spicy!

Ingredients
4 small onions, finely chopped
3 sticks celery, finely chopped
3 carrots, chopped
6 mushrooms, finely chopped
1.5 bags of Quorn mince
3 cans of chopped tomatoes
2 cans kidney beans
Spices to taste
Small glass red wine

Method
Soften the onion and celery in Fry Light for a few minutes. Add the carrots and cook for a few minutes. Keep the lid on throughout.
Add the mushrooms and the mince. Cook until mince defrosted.
Add the tomatoes, beans and spices. Simmer for a few minutes.
Add the wine. Simmer for at least an hour, adjusting the spices and liquid to taste and preference.
Chilli is best eaten the next day, but you can serve it right away! Traditionally served with rice, but great over a backed potato.

This entry was posted in Mains, Slimming World recipes, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chilli non Carne

  1. Pingback: Chilli lasagne | Em's Food

Leave a Reply

