Cranberry sauce

Cranberry sauce is super easy. The good thing about making it yourself is you can spice it up a bit by adding cloves or a cinnamon stick.

I tried making this with sweetener and it failed miserably. I think my thing is with sweetener is that in small doses it does sweeten, but in larger quantities it tastes a bit bitter.

I added 250ml water and 200ml port to the pan and popped in 500g cranberries (mine were frozen but fresh is fine too). I added the juice and rind of an orange. I also popped in a few cloves.

I added about 200g sugar, gradually, tasting as I went. I think the sweetness of cranberry sauce is personal taste.

I brought it to the boil and simmered until the cranberries popped.  I continued to cook it until it started to thicken and the colour deepened.

I added a good dollop of honey right at the end, stirred, and poured into a large jar. When cooled I popped it in the fridge, ready for the big feast.

This entry was posted in Preserves, Sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

