This year’s pumpkin pie

This year’s pie mix was actually made from butternut squash. I realise that using an actual vegetable – rather than pumpkin from a can – is considered crazy by my North American friends! But needs must – getting canned pumpkin over here is not that easy!

This recipe it taken from the BBC’s website and I think this recipe is by Anthony Worall Thomson (sp).

I got some strange looks from staff in the various vege departments at my local supermarkets, but none of them seem to carry much in the way of culinary pumpkin. Though I later discovered Morrisons are doing onion squash for 50p each – a bargain and have a better colour than butternut squash for making pies.

I make pumpkin pie every year for our local museum forum meeting. But, thanks to hurricane Bawbag, this year’s meeting was cancelled – si I had alot of pie leftover for myself! I also make a pie every year for my dear friend, Linda.

This recipe makes enough for four small pies as the pre-made cases I always buy are not huge. If I was making my own pie crust as handful of crushed pecans in the mix would go amiss.

I freeze the extra pie mix, un cooked, in pie-sized amounts in wee freezer bags. The cooked pies also freeze well.

I steamed about 1 kilo squash flesh. When done, squeeze out as much water as possible.

Warm though 550ml double cream with 150g dark brown sugar and 6 tsp of spices – 2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp allspice, 1 tsp ground cloves and 1 tsp ground ginger. Or something along those lines! Warm though until it simmers then remove from the heat.

Beat together four large eggs plus two large yolks. Combine the eggs with the cream/sugar mixture and squash flesh. Blend with a hand blender until smooth (of course, you might like some lumps in!).

Add the pie mix to pie cases. Don’t over fill – the mixture does rise a little (then settles when cooling). Cook for 35-40 minutes at 180 degrees Centigrade until the top feels firm but there is still a little movement within. Eat immediately, or leave to cool and freeze/refreigeerate until ready to eat – can be eaten cold or reheated for 10-15 (longer if from frozen) minutes in the oven.

This entry was posted in Desserts, Pies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This year’s pumpkin pie

  1. Pingback: Homemade piping bag (and devilled eggs) | Em's Food

  2. Pingback: Eating out: Caffe Canto | Em's Food

  3. Pingback: Recipes to try out: impossible vegan pumpkin pie | Em's Food

Leave a Reply

