Slow roasted tomatoes

I’ve been catching references to slow roasted tomatoes out of the corner of my eye for some time, so thought I’d give them a shot. I bought a large bag of tomatoes (the cheap, not-particularly-tasty kind) at the supermarket some time ago and thought I’d better get cooking before they went off.

I used normal sized toms, but cherry toms would work too – though would probably need less cooking.

I simply cut the toms in half (you probably wouldn’t need to do this for cherry toms), sprayed with olive oil Fry Light, sprinkled with cracked black pepper, and liberally crushed garlic over the top. And mixed. Then cooked at 120 degrees Centigrade for about 2.5 hours. I think they needed longer – probably about another hour or so. But I had to go to bed!

They came out deliciously soft, with a much more concentrated taste. The will go well in pasta dishes, antipasti, and a variety of other things! But I think if they need such a long time in the oven I’ll try making two or three batches to fill the oven, and have a slow roasted tomato eating frenzy!

Slimming World Syns: these tomatoes are FREE!

This entry was posted in Slimming World recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow roasted tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Smokey bacon and tomato pasta | Em's Food

Leave a Reply

