My own breakfast, and finding a quick and easy hollandaise recipe that works

I had an urge for a hearty breakfast this morning, and I decided to tackle hollandaise sauce. I’ve tried it a few times – either cheaty recipes don’t taste as good, or making it to the classic recipe doesn’t work! Anyway, I found this recipe and used it for the most part, but replaced butter with low fat spread.

I served my sauce with spinach, topped with a few slices of smoked ham, topped with two poached eggs. I am a bit obsessed with smoked ham! And it tasted great in this recipe. And including the spinach gave me my one third Super Free, keeping me right by Slimming World.

I poached the eggs in our silicon egg poachers. You just pop the in a pan of boiling water, oil with a little Fry Light, and pop in an egg. I usually put the lid on and cook until they look done – about three to four minutes. Then ease out of the poachers on to your spinach, bagel or English muffin.

And coincidentally, my friend, TangolikeRaindrop also blogged about hollandaise sauce this week! Brilliant tastebuds crave alike…

Ingredients
1 egg yolk
1 tsp lemon juice
3 tablespoons low fat spread

Method
Melt the low fat spread slowly in a small pot. Don’t do this too quickly, and don’t let it boil. Be wary of spread separating (butter wont!).

Add the egg yolks and lemon juice into your blender. Blend the egg yolk mixture at a medium to medium high speed until it lightens in color, about 20-30 seconds. (The friction generated by the blender blades will heat the yolks a bit.  The blending action will also introduce a little air into them, making your hollandaise a bit lighter.)

Once the yolks have lightened in color, turn the blender down to its lowest setting (if you only have one speed on your blender it will still work), and drizzle in the melted butter slowly, while the blender is going. Continue to buzz for another couple seconds after the butter is all incorporated.

Turn off the blender and taste the sauce. It should be buttery, lemony and just lightly salty.

  • If it is not salty or lemony enough, you can add a little lemon juice or salt to taste.
  • If you want a thinner consistency, add a little warm water.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Gadgets, Slimming World recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My own breakfast, and finding a quick and easy hollandaise recipe that works

  1. I like the low fat spread idea – sounds much kinder to the hips! I’ll have to get me some of those nifty egg poachers too – I might a right mess of my poached eggs for some reason. 🙂

  2. Carol Paty says:

    Thanks for the lovely recipe!! Just tried it out with smoked salmon, capers, arugula and poached eggs (and used fun egg poachers too). For a little twist I got from my time in San Antonio, TX… I added chipotle chili powder to the hollandaise 🙂

Leave a Reply

