Eating Out: cafe at the American History Museum

The food at the American History Museum was a bit of a surprise, I’m not going to lie. We’ve been surprised at the good quality and value of food on this trip, and this was no exception. Plus, in a museum in the UK you wouldn’t get the quality full stop, let alone the variety on offer at the AHM. We could’ve had BBQ, or sandwiches, or the salad bar, and the variety of drinks, desserts and sides was endless.

I opted for a burger and thought I might regret it – burger was a bit wee – but it tasted great. You got to put your own salad on the burger, so I was able to have a good dose of Super Free salad and pickles. I had deep fried cheese curds on the side; I couldn’t resist! I couldn’t imagine what they were so had to try, and they ended up being a bit like deep fried mozzarella sticks, but saltier. Definitely yum.

For dessert I had a NY blueberry cheesecake. Very good, despite not being made in New York. Probably the best cheesecake I’ve ever had – I don’t think I could ever make such a claim about cafeteria food in a museum in the UK!

The variety was great, and fun to be able to choose. I wonder if they were trying to offer a variety of classic American food, it being the American History Museum – ?

This entry was posted in Eating Out and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

