Eating out: Pig’Halle, Perth

Pig’Halle in Perth gets the thumbs up from me: lovely food, reasonably priced, friendly staff and a great atmosphere. And there’s nothing quite like eating in a French restaurant that has actual French people running and working in it; Pig’Halle ticks those boxes! It’s the latest in a string of great restaurants established by the owners, all of which are big hits with me.

Our visit to Pig’Halle wasn’t planned (I was a little disappointed to see Hettie’s (Perth branch) has closed) but it was a welcome stop! I had the lunch menu, and three courses because I was celebrating my pre-birthday!

Before we were served our meal we were given some complementary  nibbles: fresh bread, pork pate, onion relish and vege crisps. All good, but the crisps were particularly tasty. The bread was fantastic – really good, dense and tasty.
I started with the French onion soup (what else?!) with a tasty Gruyere crouton. Very good.
My main was a pastry parcel with a delicious mixture pig’s trotter and herbs, served with chips, homemade coleslaw with capers, salad and French mustard. I’ve never had pig’s trotter before, and it was delicious! I was very glad it was off the bone, because I  don’t think I could’ve managed it otherwise. But next time I’ll know how tasty it is (it’s very porky!) no matter how it’s prestned. Teh chips were delicious and the capers in the coleslaw were a good touch.
For dessert I had cheese: a fabulous selection of three cheeses, varying in potency – yum! Small portions, but very good, which made up for it. And a fabulous date chutney.

The house white was a Sauvigon Blanc, and a good one at that. And the coffee we had after lunch was very good, and strong too.

My only criticism is that though the service was friendly it seemed a little rushed. It wasn’t that we didn’t get what we were promised, or that the staff weren’t attentive, but they weren’t quite as on-the-ball as they could have been.

This entry was posted in Eating Out and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eating out: Pig’Halle, Perth

  1. Pingback: Eating out: another excellent meal at Pig’Halle | Em's Food

Leave a Reply

