Ways with okra: experimental breading and baking

Ways with okra - breaded in cornmealWe love okra, and I pick it up at the supermarket whenever I can. I usually cook it in a stew or similar; it’s a bit gooey when cooked, and I like the stew to distract me. But this time wanted to try frying it – we had fried okra in the US last summer and really enjoyed it.

I attempted to make this a healthier version of fried okra, by not actually frying it. It was moderately successful!

I dipped the okra in fat free yoghurt before rolling it in fine cornmeal (seasoned with creole seasoning). I baked them on a baking sheet, greased with Fry Light, and sprayed the breaded okra with some too. I baked them at 180 degreesC until crispy on the outside and

Next time I’d mix the cornmeal with beaten egg to make a batter, hoping to keep the breaded shell a bit more moist.

This entry was posted in Vegetables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

